Solar Wind 16


The 16th International Solar Wind Conference will be held in Pacific Grove, California, June 12-16, 2023, at the historic Asilomar Conference Grounds, the site of Solar Wind 2 and Solar Wind 3 in 1971 and 1974, respectively.

The three-annual Solar Wind Conference will cover all aspects of solar wind physics, with invited and contributed presentations that examine the current research and outline the future directions in all the relevant fields.

Solar Wind 16 is been organized by the Space Sciences Laboratory – University of California Berkeley. The meeting will take place at the Asilomar Conference Grounds in Pacific Grove, California. Asilomar is near the city of Monterey, a short distance from the city center and all its attractions.

Important Deadlines:

 Abstract Deadline: Abstracts submitted before May 17, 23:59 PT, have priority. However, if you want to submit a late abstract, use this link, and we will still consider including your contribution to the program.

Registration Deadline: Regular registration until May 20th (see here for details)

Hotel Booking: May 20, 23:59 PT

Financial support for students and early careers: It was on May 12, 2:00 pm PT


  1. Fundamentals of Solar Wind Physics 

Chairs: Tim Horbury, Louise Harra, Nour E. Raouafi

  1. Heating and Acceleration of the solar wind 

Chairs: Milan Maksimovic, Marco Velli

  1. Solar Wind Interactions

Chairs: Christina Cohen, Angelos Vourlidas

  1. The ‘Big Picture’

Stuart Bale

Science Organizing Committee:

  • Stuart D. Bale, UC Berkeley
  • Christina Cohen, Caltech
  • Louise Harra, PMOD/WRC
  • Tim Horbury, Imperial College London
  • Justin Kasper, BWX Technologies
  • Sue Lepri, University of Michigan
  • Milan Maksimovic, CNRS & LESIA, Paris observatory
  • Nour Raouafi, APL
  • Marco Velli, UCLA
  • Angelos Vourlidas, APL
  • Linghua Wang, Peking University

Local Organizing Committee:

  • Stuart Bale, UC Berkeley
  • Trevor Bowen, UC Berkeley
  • Milo Buitrago-Casas, UC Berkeley
  • Juan Carlos Martinez Oliveros, UC Berkeley
  • Marc Pulupa, UC Berkeley
  • Chadi Salem, UC Berkeley
  • Phyllis Whittlesey, UC Berkeley